Book Review: Say Something… (Speak #1) by T.A. Roth

Say Something... (The Speak, #1)

Say Something… (Speak #1) by T.A. Roth 
Paperback, 267 pages
Published March 2015 by T.A. Roth

Goodreads Synopsis:
Chemistry
What most girls search a lifetime for…
I felt it the minute he set those whiskey colored eyes on me.
Magnetism
We had it in spades…
My body was drawn to hers the moment she set foot into the room.
What happens when you both have pasts that threaten the future?
Do you do nothing?
Or
Do you Say Something?22 year old Ari Munoz is used to keeping men at arm’s length. So when her best friend Vonne guilts her into going to a frat party, she couldn’t think of a worse way to spend a Thursday night. That’s until she sparks the interest of love’m and leave’m Ben Rodriguez. The electricity she feels when they lock eyes is something she’s never felt before.

22 year old Ben Rodriguez has it all. He’s a football star, president of his fraternity, and well known ladies’ man. His endless pick of beauties, makes him the envy of all of his fraternity brothers. So why are a pair of long legs and hazel eyes making him want to throw out all of his rules?

*This novel deals with adult themes and language. 18+ please. This is book 1 in a series and contains a cliffhanger.

MY REVIEW:

Somehow this book tore my heart into pieces but also made me believe in love. Ari has been through some traumatizing things that have left her scared and the last thing she wants to do is end up hurt by another man. Sometimes the heart (and body) have other plans. Ben is just as struck by Ari as she is of him and they kept help but want go; say eff it and go after what they want. As perfect as they are together and as dreamy as their connection is, things don’t always play out that simply. Maria on the other hand is hell bent on ruining them and getting back what the thought was hers.

I loved this book but it was so raw and real. I felt like I was back in high school dealing with crazy ex’s while trying to make it work with someone I was falling for.

I’m about to get real with you guys because this book touched my on such a personal level in so many different way. I will try my hardest not to give away any big spoilers but it might me a little impossible so hopefully you read this book so you can fully understand where I’m coming from.

  1. Ari reminded me so much of myself and even some of my friends. Now I’m not going to spell out what exactly caused her to be “scarred” but I know people who were in her place and I had my own version of this kind of hell. I remember being just like her with the night terrors and little triggers that would send me into a full on panic. Lets get real: anyone who has been through something horrible and tragic always has those moments where something sets them off and you remember that horrible time in your life.
  2. Ben’s grandma reminded me of my Abuela so much. She was so precious and sweet and the little things she would say to him was exactly something she would say to me. When she got sick though that was all me reliving taking care of my dad. Even the aftermath. I didn’t have a boyfriend or what not but I have a huge family that just surrounded me and didn’t let me drown in my sorrow.

Now I will say this. As much as I loved the entire thing… that freaking ending almost made me throw my kindle at the wall. I wanted to jump into the book and stand pounding faces. I’m not saying that it was bad. You just have to read it to understand because trust me you will feel the same way. I’m scared to know whats to come.

This book is so relatable and I really do think everyone would love it. I loved every part of it and can’t wait for book 2.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Book Review: Say Something… (Speak #1) by T.A. Roth

  1. This sounds like such an emotional roller coaster! Lovely review! I love it when you can relate to a book so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Say Nothing… by T.A. Roth Blog Tour: Excerpt + Giveaway | Jesus Freak Reader

Leave a Reply

